Lewis Pressure Washing
  • NWGA Scanner

Georgia State Patrol fires entire trooper class after cheating on speed exams

Officials say 30 members of a Georgia State Patrol (GSP) school were fired Wednesday morning. Col. Mark McDonough, Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety and head of GSP, said the dismissals stem from an investigation that started in October 2019 into the 106th Trooper School, which graduated 33 cadets in August 2019. Two of the troopers dismissed are from Troop A Dalton Post 5 and Paulding Post 29. McDonough said the investigation started after a complaint alleged every cadet in the 106th Georgia State Patrol trooper class had cheated on speed detection exams. DPS Commissioner Col. Mark W. McDonough said an internal probe, launched in October, confirmed the allegation. Top brass with the Department of Public Safety learned about the scandal from the girlfriend of one of the cadets, Demon Clark, who says she took the online test for Clark. When Cadet Clark was asked about the cheating allegations, he informed superiors “he was not the only one who cheated, the whole class cheated,” and that is when the decision was made to investigate the testing of the entire class the commissioner said, adding that the individual was not a member of law enforcement.

This is the full list of the 106th Trooper School:

Erguens Accilien, Columbia County, Post 21 - Sylvania

David Allan, Hall County, Post 6 - Gainesville

Jalin Anderson, Richmond County, Post 33 - Milledgeville

Erik Austell, Bibb County, Post 15 - Perry

Evan Bauza, Chatham County, Post 11 - Hinesville

Logan Beck, Camden County, Post 23 - Brunswick

Christopher Cates, Rabun County, Post 27 - Blue Ridge

Seferino Chavez, Clayton County, Post 47 - Forest Park

Demon Clark, Greene County, Post 17 - Washington

Christopher Cordell, Catoosa County, Post 5 - Dalton

Clint Donaldson, Coweta County, Post 49 - Motor Unit

Eric Guerrero, Coffee County, Post 36 - Douglas

Jonathan Hayes, Paulding County, Post 29 - Paulding

Nicholas Hawkins, Walton County, Post 46 - Monroe

Bradley Hunt, Muscogee County, Post 2 - LaGrange

Clarence Johnson, Richmond County, Post 25 - Grovetown

Evan Joyner, Muscogee County, Post 2 - LaGrange

Richard Justice, Columbia County, Post 25 - Grovetown

Malcolm Martinez, Cobb County, Post 47 - Forest Park

Rebecca Moran, Gwinnett County, Post 51 - Gwinnett

Paul Osuegbu, Barrow County, Post 6 - Gainesville

Jose Perez, Colquitt County, Post 13 - Tifton

Patrick Pollett, Columbia County, Post 25 - Grovetown

Troy Pudder, Houston County, Post 30 - Cordele

Caleb Pyle, Coweta County, Post 24 - Newnan

Daysi Ramirez, Houston County, Post 15 - Perry

Gabriel Rampy, Carroll County, Post 4 - Villa Rica

Adam Salter, Pike County, Post 26 - Thomaston

Jerry Slade, Crisp County, Post 30 - Cordele

Kyle Thompson, Berrien County, Post 36 - Douglas

James Vaughan, Sumter County, Post 10 - Americus

Brian Whelehan, Bryan County, Post 23 - Brunswick

Kelley Whitaker, Miller County, Post 14 - Colquitt