Lewis Pressure Washing
  • NWGA Scanner

Dalton Police Department promotes veteran officer to sergeant and honors another Tuesday morning

The Dalton Police Department promoted a veteran officer and honored another with a departmental award at Tuesday morning’s meeting of the Dalton Public Safety Commission.

New Sergeant

Chief Cliff Cason opened Tuesday’s meeting by presenting 16-year department veteran David Saylors for promotion to the rank of sergeant. Saylors joined the police department in January 2004, serving in a variety of roles in the patrol division, including a stint with the Bike Unit and also serving five years on the department’s Traffic Enforcement Unit. Since October 2019, Saylors has served as the agency’s Training Officer.

Sergeant Saylors is one of the department’s most decorated officers, having received 25 awards and letters of commendation including being named the department’s Officer of the Month three times. In addition to his duties, he also serves as the coordinator for the department’s Police Explorers program. His promotion was confirmed by a unanimous 4-0 vote of the Public Safety Commission (Terry Mathis was not in attendance and Anthony Walker voted via videoconference). Saylors’ wife Brandi Saylors pinned on his new sergeant’s badge after his confirmation by the Public Safety Commission while his daughter Gracison looked on.

Traffic Safety Officer Of The Year Award

Officer Justin Smith was recognized as the police department’s Traffic Officer of the Year at Tuesday morning’s meeting. The award is given each year to a member of the department’s patrol division who performs the most work in traffic safety education and enforcement through citizen contacts. The winning officer is selected by a committee based on criteria such as attending traffic safety training courses, participating in traffic safety events and also enforcement efforts. Officer Smith was presented with the award by Officer Colten Parker, a member of the department’s Traffic Enforcement Unit.

Sergeant David Saylors (left) poses with Chief Cliff Cason. Officer Justin Smith (left) poses with Officer Colten Parker after being presented with the Traffic Safety Officer of the Year award